Deactivating and Deleting Events
Last updated: April 27, 2020
If an Event requires cancelation, Organizers have two options:
Deactivating an Event preserves the Event and all associated data. The Event can be reactivated at any time. Organizers may choose this option if they would like to move a canceled Event off of their Events list but maintain access to the information already obtained.
EventBuilder recommends deactivating canceled events as a best practice, to preserve the Event's data and allow Organizers to reactivate the Event should the need arise.
Deleting an Event will permanently remove it and all associated data from the Portal. For example, an Organizer may choose to delete an Event if it was a test or the Event contains an error.
Deactivating or Deleting an Event
First, review the cancellation email via the Communications area:
If the Event has already occurred, disable the Event Canceled email.
If you wish to edit or customize the cancelation email, you must do so prior to deactivating or canceling the Event. Once an Event is deactivated or canceled, the notification email is sent automatically to all Registrants.
Navigate to your Events list and locate the Event you wish to modify. Click on the trash icon:
A confirmation window will appear, with explanations for each option:
Click the 'Deactivate' button, and the Event will be listed as 'Inactive.' This removes it from your Active Events list, but retains all associated Event data. If you click the 'Delete' button, the Event and all associated data will be deleted from your Portal.
If the Event has not yet occurred and you have not disabled Event Communications, the cancellation email notification will be sent automatically.
Locating and Reactivating an Event
To find a deactivated Event, navigate to the Events section on your Portal, and select the Advanced Search tool:
The Search Criteria window will appear. Select 'Inactive' from the dropdown menu highlighted below, and any other search criteria you wish to add, then click 'Search.'
A list of inactive Events that met your search criteria will appear. Select the information icon to the right of the inactive Event:
The Event detail window will appear:
Click the 'Activate' button to reactivate the Event.
Note: there is no auto-generated "reactivate" email. To inform Registrants that your Event has been reactivated, use the "on-the-fly" email communication option.
For Suite and Pro-Level Users, events can be scheduled directly from Outlook using EventBuilder's E-Publish scheduling functionality.
To deactivate an E-Published Event, navigate to your Portal and follow the above instructions.
Note: E-Pubished Events cannot be deactivated from Outlook. This function must be accomplished within your Portal. If an Event is deleted from Outlook's calendar, the Event and all associated data is deleted from the Portal.